If you drive in Florida, you should know that you are required to hold car insurance. Otherwise, you will not be able to maintain your privileges, regardless of your driving ability or financial situation. The law does this to protect all drivers on the road. Without car insurance, the driver becomes responsible for all of the expenses associated with an accident. This could be hundreds of thousands, especially if injuries occurred and/or one of the vehicles got totaled. For this reason, Florida law is exceptionally harsh for those that fail to follow the rules. If you do not secure the services of a licensed Florida auto insurance company, you will experience a myriad of legal consequences. The three most common ones are outlined below.
Florida’s DMV communicates electronically with the state’s insurance companies. After you purchase an insurance policy, the company immediately gives the DMV proof of your coverage. From that point forward, you are considered legal until you miss a payment or cancel your policy. If you do either of these things while still driving, the insurance company will report your status to the DMV. The DMV will then send you a form letter requesting that do what is necessary to provide proof of your coverage. If you do not do this in a timely manner, your license (or even your registration) becomes suspended.
If you continue to drive without valid car insurance, the police can get your car impounded. In other words, it will get towed away and held at another location until you reclaim it. To be able to reclaim your vehicle, you must: 1) provide proof of coverage from a Florida auto insurance company, and 2) pay any fees associated with the towing. To release a vehicle from an impound, you will have to pay $400i, (if it has been held for 5 hours).
Fines & Jail Time
When you drive without a license, you have to go to court to clear your name. The judge will want to see that you have proof of insurance. If you do not have such proof, the judge will require you to pay fines on your citation. The cost of these fines range from $250 to $1,200. On top of this, there is also the risk of jail time, if the offense happens more than one time.
In conclusion, when you drive without insurance in Florida, you put yourself at risk for very serious consequences. So, if you do not currently have coverage, you need to contact a Florida auto insurance company as soon as you can. If you fail to do so, you will end up spending more money trying to get yourself free from the legal hassles you will face.